Callum Smart & Gordon Back:  Greig & Franck Violin Sonatas

Callums CD We are pleased to be able to offer copies of Callum Smart and Gordon Back's new CD for sale.  This is Callum's recording debut and features many of the same pieces that he played at his most recent recital at Breinton.

We are offering the CD at £10 for collection from us, or for £11 if you would like it posted.  This is cheaper than even Amazon!

Please place your order via PayPal by clicking the button below and selecting the delivery method.  If you would prefer to pay offline, please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call us on 0300 075 0199 to arrange.

Prizewinner at the Menuhin International and BBC Young Musician Competitions, this is British violinist Callum Smart's debut CD. This CD is funded by the Orchid Music Charitable Trust. The trust has been created to provide grants for brilliant young British artists to make and promote their debut recordings.

To Order:

To place your order and pay using a credit card or your PayPal account, please select the delivery method and click on the Buy Now button

Delivery choices:

Sleeve Notes

When the idea of recording my debut CD first arose I was extremely excited at the prospect of exploring a process which was completely new to me, and having the opportunity to choose and present some of my favourite pieces of music.

Chausson's Poème has for many years now been a piece to which I have felt very emotionally attached and have always dreamt of playing and recording. Its wild, imaginative story line, combined with its challenging technical and musical difficulties, ensures plenty of food for thought!

The Grieg Sonata is one that I first learnt for the Menuhin Competition in 2010. After my performance of this piece, I was awarded the prize of a UK tour to be accompanied by Gordon Back, the Artistic Director of the competition; this was the first time we appeared together and the beginning of a regular partnership. From that moment onwards this work has been thoroughly engrained into our recital repertoire. Its use of Norwegian folk melodies, which charm us with their innocence and beauty, together with the sense of unity with nature that Grieg captures in all of his music, is, I think, particularly attractive.

The Franck Sonata is a work that every violinist should play at some stage - so I thought why not now! I immensely enjoyed recording this and it gave me a chance to explore all the colours and different sound worlds of the violin. This sonata is one of the most fulfilling works to play and takes both violin and piano on a fantastic journey, physically and mentally, and I am delighted that I have been given the opportunity to record my version of this great work.


CD Contents:

EDVARD GRIEG (1843-1907)
Sonata for violin and piano No.2 in G major, Op.13

  • Lento doloroso - Poco allegro - Allegro vivace
  • Allegretto tranquillo
  • Allegro animato

Poème, Op.25

  • Lento e misterioso - Animato - Molto animato - Poco lento - Poco meno lento - Allegro - Tempo I

CAESAR FRANCK (1822-1890)
Sonata in A major

  • Allegretto ben moderato
  • Allegro
  • Recitativo-Fantasia. Ben moderato - Molto lento - Molto lento e mesto
  • Allegretto poco mosso - Poco animato